1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

My thoughts on a new MIM Deluxe active Jazz Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by genmed42, Jan 20, 2012.

1. genmed42

genmed42

Dec 31, 2011
    Hi all first post, so take it easy on me, well I've been playing bass on and off for at least 22 years , but recently got back into it again, with that being said I needed a new Bass so I did my search went to Gtr Ctr tried out a few there, then to Sam Ash, and the crazy thing is I picked up a MIM Active Deluxe Jazz Bass, and was impressed to the ease of playability , feel and tone and heck what else can I say , And yes I did try out some American Fender basses , but at the end for half the cost I just could not find a logical reason of not to go with what felt so good to me at the time , and off course a he'll of a lot cheaper. I know that the American Jazz bass is built in the States and with the woods etc sounds a little better, but can somebody tell me in description what are the major differences in sound and tonality? Thx
    Genaro.

2. The modern metal and slapper players don't tend to like the active part of the bass - I guess it won't give them what they need.

I love my bass - it's prolly the same as yours, just it's a 2010 1/2 model and I've left everything stock but for Elixir Nanos and some hardware with chrome parts. Electrically it is stock.

Since I like the Motown and early pre-Beatles music and some smooth jazz, this bass fills that area very well.

It will dial from super Low thump to some fairly crystal-shattering Highs though so I don't feel any sonic inabilities in it at all.

3. garp

garp

Feb 7, 2009
    Connecticut USA