Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My thumb floats. Should my forearm float too?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Funkateer, Sep 18, 2003.

1. Funkateer

Funkateer

Jul 5, 2002
    Los Gatos, CA
    Will there ever be an end to floating thumb questions? The right forearm is seldom mentioned in the TB postings I have read, as well as sites like adam nitti's.

I come from a classical guitar background, so I naturally started floating my thumb when I started playing the bass. On the guitar, the correct forearm position is driven by balance: the contact point between right forearm and guitar is such that the right hand is suspended in an optimal position for each of the fingers ( p-i-m-a is the nomenclature) to address the strings, and simultaneousloy distributes the weight of the arm evenly so that the position can be maintained without any muscular effort.

Is resting the forearm on the body of the bass also good technique? Otherwise, how do you stablize the right hand? Compared to classical guitar which is always played seated, the amount of bass player body movement the technique has to accommodate is much greater.

The pics on Gary Willis site suggest that he rests his forarm; and in addition to his thumb, he floats his ring finger for additional stability (and muting).

2. christoph h.

christoph h.

Mar 26, 2001
    Germany
    hmm, i wouldn't say that there is a "right or wrong" with resting your forearm on the instrument's body, but it depends on factors like relaxation, blood flow, influence on dexterity, etc.

adam nitti once mentioned that (at least during fingerstyle) he wouldn't rest his arm on the bass because it prohibited the blood from flowing into his arm sufficiently.

but as you say, other excellent players like gary willis do it without any problems.

3. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002