Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My very first (bass) family

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by natrab, Feb 10, 2004.

1. natrab

natrab

Dec 9, 2003
    Bay Area, CA
    As some of you may know, I am a relatively new bass player. I played bass for about 2 years casually and I only owned one bass until up until November, when I started playing in a couple bands and got serious about bass. Since then, I've created a nice little collection of basses. Here's a little timeline:

November 28th - My dad and I see Bela Fleck and Victor Wooten at the Fillmore. The next day, we stop at the GC San Francisco and end up falling in love with a bass (my dad's a bass player). After playing it for about 8 hours, we jump on it and buy it. My dad gives it to me for a Christmas/Birthday present (my b-day is Dec. 19th, bleh).

Thus the Fender 75 RI becomes mine.

[​IMG] [​IMG]

After that I purchased a new bass amp, my mesa 2000. I passed my Ampeg SVP-Pro on to my dad along with buying him a Stewart world 1.2 and making him a nice little bass amp for his new Avatar b210. I also bought an SX SJB-62MG Fretless for him as he hasn’t had a new bass in quite a while.

Ah the season of giving.

After that I decided to make a purchase for myself. I buy an SX SJB-75 Sunburst Ash J-bass and I absolutely love it. It’s not quite up to par with my Fender ’75, however it will definitely do for layin around on the couch or practice.

Here's a pic from Rondo:

[​IMG]

That same week I happened upon a used Lakland Skyline 55-01 and decided to take the leap (as I got it for the right price).

[​IMG]

Two weeks later, my dad buys (by my suggestion) a Brice HXB-405 nat. bass. He decides he doesn’t want to move to 5 and it becomes mine (though he still owns half of it :p).

[​IMG] [​IMG]