1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My weird taste in music has me confused about which bass.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ReIgnition, Oct 10, 2006.

1. ReIgnition

ReIgnition if you are the big tree, we are the small axe...

Aug 10, 2006
    CT
    Hello folks, This is my first post.

Quick history: I've been a drummer for 31 years, I started out in local drum corps, then DCA Corps, DCI in Garfield NJ, then set, Jazz lessons, double bass, prog stuff, fusion, etc.. I was a career Drum student because I couldn't learn enough. I learned to read and write music and play big band cold off horn charts. Tony Williams complex.

8/10/2003 me and my motorcycle were run over by a car. I still got my legs but the right doesn't bend more than 30 deg. and the left barely works... It's actually hard to type this **** cause I don't talk about it. I can play the bass drum with my left foot... but it's tuff to meter / keep solid time without a steady hihat. DON'T EVER DO ANYTHING THAT MAY HURT YOUR ABILITY TO PLAY THE INSTRUMENT YOU LOVE.

Anyways- I play a little guitar, but while playing acoustic jazz I fell in love with the bass. I would sit and stare at the strings... I wanted to play Miles / Ron Carter stuff all the time... and fast, My funny Valentine 4 and more fast. Bass players would be like "dude, take it easy". Then I got into the Hayden and Sun Ra stuff and no one wanted to play with me for a while:bawl:

I can't play upright, at least I don't think I can, unless I use it to hold me up. So I'd like an electric bass that can give me that sound when needed... maybe not exactly but close.