1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Myxolydian and... umh... uuh...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Alexvs, Jul 26, 2002.

  1. Alexvs


    Oct 18, 2000
    Kalmar, Sweden
    I've never learned all those nice names all the scales (or is it modes) have, but I think i've learned how to play them...

    If i start playing a C-Major pentatonic (a classic)
    like this:

    Third fret on the A-string, fifth on the same string and so on until i reach the fifth fret on the G-string.

    If i then play the exact same tones, but I begin playing at the fifth fret on the A-string, followed by the seventh fret on the same string, then the fifth and seventh fret on the two following strings, am I then playing a myxolidian or something like that, or is that something completely different.

    Thank you!
  2. 6-stringer

    6-stringer Guest

    Feb 5, 2000
    Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolidian, Aeolian, Locrian, are the names of all the modes. Modes are kind of um.....scales within scales? I'm real bad at explaining this. Mixolidian is the mode that revolves around the 5th position in a scale. Here is an exerpt from "The Bass Grimore".

    " A scale is a sequence of tones comprised of varying intervals. Modes can be described as scales based upon the tones of the main scale. The magor scale has 7 modes, becouse it has 7 tones. The 1st mode of any modal system is the scale itself. For many scales the individual modes have been given names because they are used as scales themselves.
    The modes of the major scale are the Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolidian, Aeolian, and Locrian. The mode called Ionian is the major scale, the 2nd is dorian, and so on."

    Hope this helps get you started. Once you catch on, It's pretty easy. Good luck!
  3. Yvon

    Yvon Supporting Member

    Nov 2, 2000
    Montreal, Canada
    moved to GI
  4. stephanie


    Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    Hmmm....I'm a little bit confused by the question. You might want to check out this thread. It contains links that may help you with modes and scales.

    Are you talking about the regular C Major scale? (As in C D E F G A B C). The Mixolydian mode would be G Mixolydian: G A B C D E F G. This is based on the 5th step of the C Major scale.

    I haven't done much studying on Pentatonics, so maybe someone else can explain that for you. :confused:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.