1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

n00b bass player

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by totaldoughnut, May 30, 2011.

1. totaldoughnut

totaldoughnut

Apr 30, 2011
    Ive been researching threads in these forums for a while now, the information and knowledge on this site is amazing. Im a 39yo lefty that recently decided to try and learn the bass, been alot of fun so far. Not looking for flames from the elitists here just wanted to chat about my experience so far. I ended up getting a Davison lefty base package to learn with. The amp it came with is buzzy and crap. Been running it through my old Kenwood reciever thats connected to two old kicker 12" subs and tweeters. To my rookie ears I think it sounds pretty good, much better than that little chinese amp. The bass needed alot of setup to stop the buzzing. Im a diesel mechanic so I never own stuff very long without taking it apart :). Just ordered some qp pups, dáddario chrome flatwounds, and some copper shielding tape. Looking forward to the tinkering time and to see how it sounds after. Ive been self teaching myself with info from this site, studybass.com, and songsterr. Ill keep at it and build up this bass, eventually ill upgrade to something else, but for now what I have is fun for me. I appreciate all the info you all provide on this site and any suggestions you have to my introduction post.

2. damn! when i saw the name of the thread i was all like "AH FRESH MEAT!!"

just joking of course. welcome, but be careful! i'm pretty convinced TB uses inception to give you G.A.S.

3. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Banned

Feb 21, 2010
    St. Louis
    That's awesome. Keep at it, it is a lot of fun. Starting out your tinkering obsession ( trust me, it will blossom into a full blown obsession) with a low end bass was an excellent idea.

4. spiltcoil

spiltcoil Banned

Dec 13, 2010