Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

n00b here... Just starting out.. need Bass suggestions...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by onethirtyeight, Dec 12, 2003.

1. onethirtyeight

onethirtyeight

Dec 12, 2003
    I’m sure you all get a thousand of these questions every day, so if you can bear with me....

I’m just starting out; however I would like a Electric Bass with enough quality that I would not need to immediately replace it when I get better.

I would most likely be using it to play mainly punk and rock style music.

I’m looking to be in the $400.00 range for just the guitar... (New or used)

4 string, also this may sounds stupid... but it has to be black (personal pref.)

Thanks a lot in advance.

2. Welcome to TB.

[​IMG]

I would suggest looking for a used MIM or MIJ, Fender Jazz Bass.

MIM=made in Mexico
    MIJ=made in Japan.

I feel the Jazz bass is very versatile and of descent quality too.

http://www.fender.com/

GUIDELINES FOR FIRST TIME BASS GUITAR BUYERS

Buying your first instrument can be a difficult task. You're not sure what to look for, how much to spend, and on and on. Here are a few tips to ease your pain.

First, have a budget in mind before you go into the stores, so that you won't be dazzled by the flash and splendor of the "SPGX5000VR"!!!. With today's instruments you should be able to find a good, playable instrument for between $250 & $500.

Second, look for simplicity. Basses with tons of controls and gold hardware add to the price and are a distraction from the goal...to learn to play bass guitar. Watch for easy to understand control layout and straight forward hardware (tuning keys and bridges).

You will run across two different types of pickups, the single coil & the hum canceling