1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NAD.... Fender!?! Da he!!?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by armybass, Dec 21, 2016.

Tags:
  1. armybass

armybass Gold Supporting Member

Jul 19, 2001
    I have been playing for 35 years, the last time I bought a new Fender bass amp on purpose was oh about 1989.... a Fender BXR head and cab.... biggest POS I have ever owned. I have felt that Fender really didn't want to make bass amps for the past 30 years given their mostly pathetic offerings. Never took them seriously again. I have been hearing "rumblings" over the past few years and I figured folks were just getting desperate on TB to talk about something new. But low and behold I have done my research and opted to order a new Bassman 500 head and it will be delivered today. If I am as pleased with this purchase as I suspect I might.... I can see a new Fender Bassman pro 15 cab in my near future....

Report to follow.

2. joel406

joel406

Dec 27, 2013
    Florida
    I'm fighting the gas to get the Bassman 800.

armybass likes this.
  3. armybass

Jul 19, 2001
    What really spurred me on is my current love affair with the AVRI basses. I have recently used them to define my sound in my current gigs and the Bassman series seems like the perfect combination for the AVRI's for the sound I am going for. Old school tone with modern clarity and bottom end.

Stumbo likes this.
  4. joel406

joel406

Dec 27, 2013
    Florida
    Same reason I was considering them. My 2013 American Standard Jazz bass is the best playing and sounding bass I have "ever" had. Let me know how you like that bassman 500. Right now I'm all wrapped up in an awesome GK rig that I'm very happy with but I still feel a pulling sensation to the Fender. That Bassman 800 looks soooo sweat.

armybass likes this.
  5. armybass

Jul 19, 2001