NAD -- Mesa D-800

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BlueTalon, Jun 26, 2022.

1. BlueTalon

BlueTalon Happy Cynic Supporting Member

Mar 20, 2011
    Inland Northwest
    Endorsing Artist: Turnstyle Switch
    Long story short -- I've been gigging with a GK MB-500 Fusion for the past five years or so. About a year ago, it started having issues -- the main one being one of the speaker outputs abruptly quit working -- so as much as I love it, I started looking at new amps. For various reasons, I settled on Mesa as my new target acquisition. I considered the D-800+ but settled on the D-800. The smaller size and price of the D-800 was worth giving up the adjustable HPF and other features on the D-800+ (it helps that I have a Broughton HPF/LPF).

Since one of the GK's speaker outputs does work, I continued to use it in the mean time, just making sure I had a backup amp with me (the smaller GK MB-200), and I waited for the right time to buy.

That right time came about a month ago. Another long story short, Sweetwater had one that was open box. I learned about it before it actually was listed (thanks, @StellarJay!), so I contacted my sales "engineer" and told him I wanted it. I told him I wanted him to run interference for me and get it in my cart before it actually got listed on the website. That process actually took an agonizingly long time, but he got it done (thanks Craig!).

I got it not long ago. I didn't think to take any unboxing pictures, but I did take a shot at a gig I did on Friday. I was happy with the sound -- I'm not one that likes to fiddle with knobs, I prefer to fire and forget. I set the knobs around the midpoint, tweaked a few things, then just left it alone. Actually, my guitar player fiddled with it a bit, too. I'm not sure exactly what he did, but he was very pleased with the sound as well. The amp itself appears well constructed and substantial, and "robust" to use someone else's word.