1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NAD

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by middy, Sep 26, 2013.

1. middy

middy

Mar 14, 2007
    Texas
    I've been playing a Markbass CMD 121p for the last 6 months. It's a pretty nice amp... for acoustic and jazz gigs maybe. For a loudish rock band with iffy FOH support in rooms with crap acoustics? Nope. It goes "boink boink" or "mush mush". Even with sansamp, equalizers, compressors, etc. I fought to make that thing work because I love the 30 pound loadout.

I have to say, it works well for a stage monitor if you have a soundman who knows what he's doing and a decent pa and a stage that doesn't suck. Which hardly ever happens for us.

So I gave up.

attachment.

After getting the 810e home and playing with it for a few hours, I'm pretty sure this is the best musical equipment purchase I've ever made.

There's no boomy bass spilling all over from a ported cab. It's just there. Tight, punchy, wonderfully musical and clearly defined. It fills the room without seeming loud or mushy, yet I can hear stuff vibrating all around the house. :cool:

The Ampeg PF500 is exactly the sound I wanted (well, not quite, but the SVT is next year :ninja:). The built in compressor is nice. With this head and cab, I plug straight in and the tone I've been chasing for years is right there!

It sounds great with my guitars and my Jet City JCA20H too! (The Jet City only handles 8 ohms so I just plug into the top 4x10... I love you Ampeg!)

It is so choice. If you have the means, I highly recommend picking one up.

I can't wait for rehearsal! :bassist:

Attached Files:

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups