Nanny, Simandl or Rabbath

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by altugbas, Jul 24, 2000.

1. altugbas

Jul 24, 2000
    I am a new beginner and I am practicing Nanny’s method for about 4 months. The etudes do not seem to follow each other in terms of difficulty:it is like for the pages to look good many etudes in between are discarted. The other methods I know are Simandl and Rabbath. Is there much difference between Nanny’s method and Simandl’ s? I tried the Rabbath fingering for the A major scale:Astring;0 1 4 Dsring;0 1 4 G string;-1 2. I cannot reach the g# and a with out changing the place of my thumb. Can I benefit from Rabbath’s methods. Which method (also there must be other methods)will be best for me?(Note: i cant afford a teacher)
  2. rablack

Mar 9, 2000
    Houston, Texas
    Check out George Vance's Progressive Repertoire. I would also get his scales/exercises book called Vade Mecum. He is Rabbath-based but starts slow and works you into the fingering system. You can get them at Lemur Music.

I've also heard good things about Morton's books. You should also check for ideas and links.
  3. altugbas

Jul 24, 2000
  4. rablack

Mar 9, 2000
    Houston, Texas
    You actually have to go to the "Sheet music" section of the Lemur website and scroll way down the page. The method is published by Slava Publishing the Lemur catalog number is SLA 001. The first volume now contains books 1 & 2 and a CD (recorded by Rabbath) its around $15-$20. The Vade Mecum by Vance is a scales/exercises book catalog number SLA 023 $11.50. They don't seem to be in the online store. You might have to call or e-mail them to place the order (they are good people to work with)

Lemur also has the Morton's books put out by Basso Profundo publications (which also has its own website).

I don't work for any of these companies. I'm working through the Vance method with my teacher and find the books well put together.
  5. altugbas

Jul 24, 2000