1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NBD+1: Hofner Galaxie HCT Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mongo2, Dec 22, 2017.

Tags:
  1. mongo2

mongo2

Feb 17, 2008
    Da Shaw
    I've been playing a Hofner Ignition Club for a few years and more recently a Hofner 500/5 Contemporary President.

I've always been a fan of the narrow necks on Hofner, Vox and Fender Performer basses and I've even DIY narrowed a couple of necks from SX and a Fender Bronco to satisfy my desire for a solid body with a similarly narrow neck.

Also to that end I've been looking for, but not finding, a shortscale Hofner Contemporary Galaxie for a few years so when I came across one on Amazon (Black with Tort guard) the other day I ordered it immediately. It arrived yesterday.

First impression is this MIC Galaxie is very well put together. Fit and finish are fine except for one very tiny niggle I'll get to later. The satin finish neck is a bit chunky but has a soft "V" profile which makes the chunkiness very comfortable. The maple neck also has quite a bit of random flame which is nice. Fingerboard looks to be rosewood and the binding is cream. The fret work is very good but the nut has sharpish corners which I will smooth over before gigging. The nut slots are a little bit high for me so I'll lower those a tad which is something I've had to do with quite a few production basses I've owned.

I wasn't sure I'd like the fingerboard markers but they give it a very '60's kitch vibe which is fine by me.

The tuners are the same as on my Ignition Club and violin basses and I haven't had any issues with them over the years. The OEM roundwounds are awful, there's no other way to put it.