1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NBD, 3/4 Romanian Hora hybrid bass (Thomann 22)

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Nohrellas, Nov 21, 2018.

1. Nohrellas

Nohrellas

May 11, 2016
    Vienna
    It finally arrived, carved top and laminated sides and back. Excuse all the packaging material in the background but, well, an upright bass was just delivered :laugh:

First impression (as a complete novice): the nut seems to be adjusted properly, maybe the nut slots could be a tiny bit deeper but I'll leave it right now (folded piece of normaler printer paper gets slightly stuck between the string and the fingerboard when sliding it up the nut). The action is actually at a playable level, 8mm - 10mm from G to E at the end of the fingerboard. And I just love the way it looks. Sound, well my technique is poor which is why I'll get lessons ASAP, but it's nice and loud and sounds full pizzicato, haven't bothered with arco yet because I'm even worse at that.
    Not sure what kind of detail shots are usually done on an upright, but I'll take some more pictures soon.

IMG_20181121_115326.

2. Nohrellas

Nohrellas

May 11, 2016
    Vienna
    Here is how the bridge sits at the moment, I had to push it backwards a tiny bit several times when I was tuning the strings up to pitch. Right now all of it has proper contact with the body (can't slip a piece of paper under the bridge feet) except for these 2 small spots. I'm not sure if the bridge just isn't adjusted as perfectly or if it needs a tiny nudge backwards.
    IMG_20181121_121818. IMG_20181121_121834.