NBD: An original Ibanez Affirma AFR 105 from the 90s! A dream come true!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by LowEndLobster, Apr 11, 2020.

1. LowEndLobster

LowEndLobster Bass reviewer and youtube dude guy. Gold Supporting Member

Oct 29, 2003
    Northern MA
    loNJABN.png

The one on the right just arrived today. I've had the reissue for a few months and absolutely love it, but have always wanted one of the originals. Had my chance and I took it. Very glad I did! I've always wanted one of these since I started playing bass in 2002ish. Going to do a 3 part video series reviewing each of the affirmas- AFR105, EDA905 (en route), and my AFR5WAP reissue. This is going to be fun!

2. mikezimmerman

mikezimmerman Supporting Member

Apr 29, 2001
    Omaha, Nebraska
    I'm definitely curious how the 90's model compares to the re-issues, or vice-versa. I played with the 90's ones when they were new and was impressed, but it's been a while, and I've never tried the re-issues...

BrentSimons likes this.
  3. LowEndLobster

Oct 29, 2003
    Northern MA
    I'm going to be doing in depth reviews of all three affirmas (AFR105, Ergodyne EDA905, and the AFR5WAP reissue) which will have plenty of playing and tone comparisons. Subscribe to my channel if you're not already :). I just posted my latest video with a quick demo and overview of the AFR105 (I got it a week ago, still exploring it).