NBD: dbk 6 string - I built this one from a kit!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dkelley, Aug 16, 2021.

1. So this is a first for me.

I grabbed a kit from Combine Guitars - their 6 string bass kit.

Solid ash body, maple neck with rosewood fretboard, 34" scale, 6 string (roughly 17mm spacing at bridge although I haven't actually measured it). 24 frets, bolt on (5 bolt), stock chinese pickups, after market chinese 3 band preamp (so yes it's an active bass now). Fender style bridge but with tracks for the saddle feet which helps stability under aggressive right hand playing tremendously.

I've never done this sort of project before. Sanded, sanded, sanded, sanded... oh and then I sanded and sanded. Next day I sanded and sanded. Then I sanded.

Ash and maple are both finished with circa 1850 Tung oil. Ash turned out beautiful with it, imho.

pickups aren't in my budget, but fortunately I currently quite like the stock pickups. Thick heavy yet articulate low strings (pitch wise), aggressive and punchy with lots of presence in the higher string (pitch wise).

Preamp is a mings 3 band - sort of the goto of cheap chinese preamps. perfectly fine, but mid control is moderate - useful but moderate. bass control is excellent. treble is in the presence area, so it can be useful in it's own way, but it's far from, for example, a stingray treble control which is much higher in like 10k-ish area.

Anyway, sounds really good so far, and after a LOT OF FRET WORK (sanded frets for days to get them even and with low action), this thing plays VERY well and is comfy and useful all up and down the neck.

being 34" scale makes it more comfy for me than my other 6 which is 35", although my other is far nicer build, woods, neck through, access up high is better, etc... but for a bolt on, this DIY bass gives decent access to the top frets and is comfy for sure.

Also being ash it isn't super heavy. I haven't weighed it yet though.