NBD - FBass VF5 (long-winded story warning)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ScottfromCalgary, Mar 18, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ScottfromCalgary

ScottfromCalgary

May 10, 2015
    Calgary
    Just received this beauty yesterday via Purolator from Long and McQuade in Markham, Ontario. First new bass I've purchased without getting my hands on it first, but I took a chance given the reviews and reputation of the crew at FBass. I'll also preface this by saying I've only had about 2 hours playing time on the bass, and no time with the band yet. But holy crap is this a gorgeous bass...

Backgrounder: I've been playing bass for 33 years now and have gone through a LOT of different gear. I've been on another purge and trade binge lately, moving most of my passive Fender/Fender-style basses and recently acquiring a Sadowsky RS5, a Lull M5V and also having a Dingwall Super J5 in my possession for a week. My #1 GAS list bass had been the Super J (the VF5 being a close 2nd) and playing one for a week didn't help that at all (thanks to TB'r #rocket45 for letting me experience his for a little while). To date, the Super J had been the nicest bass I'd ever played, so the bar was set pretty high for the FBass.

With the Super J no longer in my possession and not readily available to purchase, I set my sights on the VF5. Had a quick chat with Marcel at Fbass (great guy and very helpful) who sent me the current price list and info on build times, etc. I was about a day or 2 away from ordering direct from FBass when I stumbled upon this beauty on the L&M website - in much the same configuration I was going to have built anyway! The difference being a PJ setup versus the JJ that I would have ordered. Regardless, I snatched it up right away.