1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

NBD Fender Jaguar Bass - review

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by johnk_10, Jun 25, 2010.

1. johnk_10

johnk_10 vintage bass nut Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 16, 2008
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    John K Custom Basses
    well, i had been contemplating getting a jag bass for the last four years and finally gave in to the urge to have one in my arsenal, so i just bought this black one yesterday.

blackjag-1.

first impressions:
    i prefer the sound and comfort of lighter weight fender basses and this one weighed in at a reasonable 9 lbs 4 oz. even though it's a bit heavier than my other fenders, when worn on a strap it doesn't really feel as heavy as it is.

the nut was cut a bit too high (which i quickly remedied) as well as the neck had a bit of a front bow. after addressing those two issues, and adjusting the action/pickups, it plays like butter, and the neck is now as straight as any bass that i've ever owned (more than 150).

time to plug it in.
    the preamp was noisey, hissing and spitting, so i took the 9V battery out and measured it. it measured 8.6V, and even though it should be enough voltage, i replaced it with a new one and after testing it, all of the hiss and noise was gone.

first of all, i'm not fan of the 70's J bass pickup spacing as i find the bridge pickup too harsh and brittle when it's that close to the bridge. and when you couple that with the Jag's weak J bass pickups, it's even worse. i removed the bridge pickup and measured it's DC resistance to be 5.68K ohms (very low), so i had a USA fender Jazz bass bridge pickup in my parts drawer and replaced it with that. it helped, having higher output, with more lows, mids and a smoother top end but, IMO still leaves something to be desired.