1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NBD - Fender Standard Precision Bass Limited Edition Ocean Turquoise

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ThingsAbove, Apr 19, 2019.

1. ThingsAbove

ThingsAbove

Jul 11, 2011
    It's been probably 15 years since I owned a P-Bass. I recall that I bought one when I started playing bass and seemed to think it only had one sound. No one told me that's the sound you want for 50% of popular music.
    Well I'm older, and not much wiser, but I hear it's a good idea to have a P-Bass.

The strings are super zingy so I can't make a fair assertion about how it sounds yet. I'll probably throw on a set of flats that have been waiting for a P for many years.

This is the first neck that I've played in many years that doesn't have rolled edges and I'm such a wuss that the fingerboard edge is very distracting. I'll need to roll them a bit for comfort. It doesn't have any fret whiskers yet but I can take care of them if they grow when the air dries out. I'm told this is a comfortable neck, but as I'm used to Jazz necks it feels rather large right now. I'm sure I'll adapt with some play time. I used to play an 8 string bass (NS/Stick) and THAT had a big neck.

Regarding the appearance, I'm not sure what drew me to this model other than it was on sale for under $600. In my opinion it's one of the ugliest factory colors I've seen come out of Fender, especially on a maple neck instrument. BUT it has a Tort pickguard so that makes up for most sins. Honestly, I think the Ocean Turquoise would look better with a white pickguard and white pup covers, but then it wouldn't be Tort, ah but I digress again. Here's some pictures.

The camera is not capturing how truly blue-GREEN this thing is. I mean it's really, really dark-green turquoise. The photos make it look much bluer (and better looking) than it is in reality.

IMG_20190419_170047.jpg