1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

NBD - Fireglo Ric 4003

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Anthony Barrett, Jan 6, 2012.

1. Hey Guys,
    I traded one of my P's last week for a JetGlo 4003. Love it so much I bought a Fireglo from MF this week to use as my second bass for gigs. Have to say, MF were great to deal with, gave me a fantastic price and the bass arrived superbly packaged.

The finish is beautiful and the sustain is awesome. I am really happy with this but there are two things I have a question about - I wonder if the Ric guys on here can help as I am still pretty new to this bass...

1. The string spacing. On my JetGlo, the strings run perfectly through the middle of my bridge (I'm not referring to the saddles / saddle grooves, but the actual slots in the bridge itself). On my new 4003, the strings run off-center (to the right) across all strings. Secondly, the EA string allen wrench screw that adjusts the string height is set so the EA side of the floating bridge piece is higher than the DG side.

The action is comparable to my JetGlo, it plays great and sounds / feels awesome. I am just a bit ignorant of Rics and wondered if what I describe in terms of the string spacing is adjustible or indicative of a bridge that could be slighty out of alignment? Again, totallly ignorant with Rics, so sorry if a stupid question. Thx!

2. Not sure I can believe you actually have this bass without photographic proof.

3. In work - will post tonight. She's a beauty.

4. Actually I think I am being a bit of a muppet with my question on the strings. Just studied a bunch of 4003 pics on the web and this looks to be pretty normal. So, I'll post pics up later and keep my Ric naivety to myself from here on in!

5. thisSNsucks

thisSNsucks Supporting Member

Dec 19, 2004
    Yonkers, NY