1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NBD - First ever Fender

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by NathanDetroit, Jan 27, 2017.

Tags:
  1. NathanDetroit

NathanDetroit

Oct 15, 2016
    I've been playing bass for twenty years now, but I haven't experienced a NBD since about... 2004 maybe? I can't even remember, it's been so long. Since then I've been rocking a German bolt-on Thumb bass exclusively and the GAS has been slowly building. After checking CL and the classifieds here twice a day and telling myself I really didn't need a new bass so why was I even looking, I stumbled upon this fella for a reasonable price, so I bought it:
    ebc182e6-95df-441e-81f1-6958baef7c55.
    ee19e20b-78af-4b6f-a733-311fe029a00a.
    While I've owned a couple jazz basses over the years, this is both my first fretless and my first Fender. Based on the serial number it appears to be a 1997/1998, but that's about all I know about it. Assuming it hasn't been modified over the years, can anyone here tell me anything about it? The guy I bought it from only had it a couple weeks and he didn't seem to knowledgeable.
    22ec16cb-ce25-484f-b226-49db70f8170b.

2. It appears to be a 97 MIM Jazz bass, or at least the neck is. I'm assuming the body is, as well. The bridge is different, but overall it looks like a nice bass. I have an MIM Jazz of my own sitting right next to me. Enjoy!

Edit- can't see what it says on the neckplate. That part is different. Looks like maybe it says "patent pending" under the Fender logo.

3. NathanDetroit

NathanDetroit

Oct 15, 2016
    Thanks for the info PWRL. The neckplate just says "Fender Corona California". Do you think the bridge was swapped at some point?

murphy likes this.
  4. Basshappi

Basshappi

Feb 12, 2007
    Tucson,AZ
    Nice Jazz, congrats!

5. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member