1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NBD: Hadean Uke Bass; Cool Bass, Intonation sucks... Not anymore.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by moonshinegtrs, Dec 3, 2017.

1. moonshinegtrs

moonshinegtrs Banned Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 28, 2009
    White Bluff,Tn.
    Owner: Moonshine Custom Guitars
    A couple of years ago I bought a Hadean Uke Bass from Rondo. It was the 20" scale and it had a nice flame maple (laminated) body that was covered in a translucent bright yellow :wideyed: finish . Cool little bass, I played it off and on put black pahoehoe strings (at least I think that's what they are... Every pic I see of them they appear looking like the lava they are named after. Mine are shiny... Any ideas?).
    s-l1600%2012_zps7gm8btdd.

This year I started playing it more and more and now I am in a couple of acoustic/electric projects playing resonator, ABG, upright and the Uke bass. The U bass is fun to play, I'm finally learning to soften my touch when playing it. The one thing I didn't like was the extremely short scale; the bass was just too freakin' tiny... As mentioned several times in other posts, I'm not little. Playing the U bass just felt funny (I somewhat play mandolin too and it's not the same) and the bright yellow finish made it look even more like a toy (it isn't).

I also have one of Rondo's solid body U basses, a 23" (actually closer to 24") scale model and it feels more comfortable to play. I have Kala steel U bass strings on it and it sounds more like a electric bass than an upright (due to the strings).

I decided to sell the yellow U bass and order a 23" scale model; they were available with walnut or zebrawood (laminated) bodies. I went with the walnut.

Hadean Bass Uke UKB-23-33 Long Scale - RondoMusic.com