1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NBD: Landscape ARB 204-FL

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lo-E, Oct 8, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Lo-E

Lo-E

Dec 19, 2009
    Brooklyn, NY
    Okay, not exactly new. It arrived last Thursday and I've been pretty busy.

I've been jonesing for one of these for several years and, when a used one showed up on Ebay, my wife and sister went halfs and bought it for my birthday. I have a really good wife and a really good sister!

Without further ado, bad phone pictures:
    IMG_1170.JPG
    I added a strap button:
    IMG_1171.JPG
    The string spacing was much too narrow for the width of the fingerboard (a mod by the last owner, I suspect) so I made a new nut out of ebony and corrected the spacing:
    IMG_1172.JPG
    I corrected the spacing at the bridge as well:
    IMG_1173.JPG

The bass came with what I believe are Ernie Ball flats on it. I like them okay, but I'll probably restring it with TI flats next time I order strings.

The electronics are a neck soapbar and a bridge piezo. Volume, blend and tone - all passive. I was skeptical about a passive blend between a mag and a piezo, but it works okay. I tried plugging directly into an amp as well as through my LR Baggs Para Acoustic DI and didn't really notice a significant difference, so I'm just going to forego the preamp.

The bass plays and sounds wonderful ( and doesn't look half bad, either!). I'm a happy guy.

Reedt2000, markroman, bdgotoh and 2 others like this.
  2. MEKer

MEKer Supporting member

May 30, 2006
    Good for you. It looks warm and..well...bassy! Probably sounds great.

Just no slapping!

Lo-E likes this.
  3. Lo-E

Lo-E

Dec 19, 2009
    Brooklyn, NY
    No, no slapping for this bass!

MEKer likes this.
  4. P. Aaron

P. Aaron Supporting Member

Looks like a nice bass. Congrats.

Lo-E likes this.
  5. Oren Hudson

Oren Hudson

Dec 25, 2007