1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NBD: Mapleglo Ric 4003

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GreggBummer, Oct 10, 2020.

1. image_67367425 (1).JPG

image_67367425.JPG

image_17035777.JPG

image_17035777 (1).JPG

For me, it’s the bass I wanted since I started playing back in the 1980s. I’ve had it 24 hours, and I can’t put it down.

I was worried that the neck might be too wide for me, but, I adapted easily and find it comfortable to play after only a few hours.

It looks and sounds fantastic.

Some questions for Ric owners:

I see some folks have the bridge pick up off. I’m not sure I want to do that, but if I decide to: Do I have to replace the bezel

The bridge pick up is slighter hotter than the neck. Is this the charm of the Ric, or should I adjust (sounds good now!)

How do the mutes work? Thumb screws I suppose.

Best “Rick-O-Sound” like box on the market? I have a stereo cable with a splitter... but maybe I’d like a some sort of box.

Thanks for the advice in advance.

Attached Files:

2. 80jazz

80jazz

Jun 28, 2008
    Kansas
    I am not sure if the box would be necessary. I would just rock 2 amps for that.

As for the bezel, you do not have to replace it. My 4003s has its PU cover removed and I have considered a bezel, but who knows if/when I will do that.

If you like the way the pickups sound at the current height, I would leave it.

Congrats on the purchase! Rics are fun basses. My next one will be a 4003W.

GreggBummer, jamro217 and bobyoung53 like this.
  3. Qlanq

Qlanq

Jul 9, 2007
    Swansea
    Nice bass. Enjoy.

GreggBummer and jamro217 like this.
  4. Giffro

Giffro

Apr 29, 2017
    South Australia