NBD: My first bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by CodyMonster, Jul 13, 2020.

1. CodyMonster

CodyMonster

Jun 15, 2020
    Got my first bass today. I've been scouring the forums and online retailers like a total noob for a few weeks now, min-maxing and trying to stay on budget.

I pulled the trigger on an LTD B204SM Fretless last week, got a good deal on a new one that I could not pass up and it was on top of my list. Found a used Hartke combo and ordered some stuff online. Shweet jesus I forgot all about the odds-and-ends I need to get the thing playing :)

Picked up the amp today and also got some boxes in the mail.

bass01.jpg

bass03.jpg

bass04.jpg

bass05.jpg

Now to start learning how to use the damned thing. Tried something today but I only managed to scare the local wildlife away.

2. Congratulations and welcome to the low end! You’re jumping in the deep end right away with a fretless too. If I was wearing a hat, I would tip it toward you. I think I waited 2 years before I got the courage to give it a shot. Your bass has a very nice top.

3. Runnerman

Runnerman Registered Bass Player Supporting Member

Mar 14, 2011
    Congrats! Love their spalted maple. They do a great job.

Bassdirty and CodyMonster like this.
  4. Old Fart

Old Fart

Mar 11, 2011
    Why on Earth would you want to play bass? Nevermind. We know the answer. What we don't know is why everyone does not want to play bass.

Welcome!

5. CodyMonster

CodyMonster

Jun 15, 2020
    Carrots!!!!

Thanks!!! Loving the maple as well, I think I got lucky on the shapes in the wood. And yeah, fretless, I am starting at zero, thought I might as well go full monty even if it takes a bit longer to get the fingerings right. Hopefully I don't regret the decision.

GregC, Fat Freddy, M0ses and 2 others like this.
  6. Old Fart

Old Fart

Mar 11, 2011