NBD...Sandberg content

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by flyingfinbar, Jul 22, 2019.

1. flyingfinbar

flyingfinbar Supporting Member

Oct 3, 2010
    Long Island, New York
    i thought I was done. I bought a sweet Les Paul a few months back, and then an equally sweet AVRI P bass and I said I was done. No need for anything else...

Then along comes this sweetheart on the GC used site at a price I couldn’t pass up...

I’ve been dying to get my hands on a Sandberg for a couple years now, but it just hasn’t worked out. I figured that I’d be able to play it, check it out, and use that 45 day return policy if it didn’t work out.

But daaaaang, I think it’s gonna work out. So many sounds out of her! I’ve been playing downtuned, heavy, and fast hardcore with an AVRI Jazz bass, and, while it sounds killer, it’s not the best platform for what I’m doing- I replaced the bridge for stability, and shimmed the neck for a better break angle over the saddles. I think this Sandberg might be the ticket. It can be bubbly bridge pickup J, throaty scooped, both pickups dimed jazz, convincing P with neck soloed...and that’s not even touching the monster dual coil in the back. Engage that, and it’s everything but a little deeper, not meaner, just deeper. So cool. The passive tones are beautiful as well. I think I’m gonna put that ol j bass back to stock and just enjoy her as is.

But here’s the caveat. The ad clearly stated item comes with case...it didn’t. I’ve taken it up with GC, waiting to hear back. In the meantime, enjoy the pics!

Attached Files:

2. Congrats! Very pretty bass. Hope they get you a case for it.

flyingfinbar likes this.
  3. flyingfinbar

Oct 3, 2010
    Long Island, New York
    Thanks! I’m in contact with GC about it, but they seem to be dodging me...not the first time with their avoidance shenanigans.

4. Beautiful, love the color

flyingfinbar likes this.
  5. rickster4003

rickster4003

Feb 15, 2013
    Nice! What's the fretboard wood-love the grain.