1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NBD - Stingray content inside

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by awakefie, Jul 5, 2014.

1. The other day (actually about two weeks ago) I was at Guitar Center playing MIA Fenders and neck-through Schecters. I had never considered Music Man basses, not sure why, just never tried them. I picked up a StingRay 5 and plugged it into the same MarkBass rig I use and fell in love.

Needless to say I bought it and now the honeymoon is on. The pictures don't do it justice (crappy lighting and a camera phone). It is blue with black accents.

It plays like a dream. I have had it to practice once or twice and it cuts through the mix beautifully. Growl when I need it and boom when I don't.

I'm searching my mind as to why I have never tried Music Man's before and can't think of anything (but perhaps price). Either way, I'm glad I did this time. It is a great instrument.

StingRay1. StingRay2.

2. I bought the Stingray S.U.B bass as a backup for a tour and I absolutely fell in love with it, plays way better than the price tag! I was the same way about Music Mans though... never considered them until i just played one and enjoyed it one day! Yours is a beaut, enjoy

3. G-MonRV5

G-MonRV5

Apr 29, 2008
    Indiana
    Been a fan of Stingrays for a while now, but it's been about three years since I unloaded my last one. However... I'm expecting my next one to be delivered in less than two days. Needless to say, I am stoked!

'Growl' is absolutely the best word to describe the tone. Sounds great live and recorded.

huckleberry1 likes this.
  4. huckleberry1

huckleberry1

Jul 1, 2013
    Mesquite, Texas
    student
    don't know how I lived without one...

5. nicopiano

nicopiano Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2012
    Levis, Quebec, Canada