NBD: The Bass That Made Me Want to Play—Jackson David Ellefson Signature

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Riff Ranger, Feb 24, 2021.

1. I had this poster over my bed from when I started playing in 1993 to when I graduated high school in 1999:
    61D6A299-7991-46F6-98EC-B0CC9B3CE733.jpeg

From 1994 to 2007, I had a passive, bolt-on, dot inlay, four-string Jackson that mostly looked and sounded the part, and the band on this poster may have influenced that acquisition :smug: While I traded that instrument well and without regrets, I have always remembered it fondly.

Though I never stopped playing completely, music took a back seat until 2018. Life had changed quite a bit, and so had what I wanted from an instrument … or so I thought. After trying a few different ways of getting at the new sound in my head, it seems the instruments I chose in my earliest years of playing would have gotten me there fastest: my Ibanez ATK (which I managed to keep) and my Jackson.

This time, though, I went full Rust In Peace-era Megadeth:
    View attachment 4180393

Behold the Jackson X Series Signature David Ellefson 30th Anniversary Concert™ Bass CBX V!

76CB055D-3CA8-462B-A430-493D6FDB899E.jpeg

B6C1697C-FC8E-4039-8148-EC229297BECA.jpeg

It arrived set up so poorly that it was literally unplayable, but fortunately it responded well to my adjustments. It practically plays itself, and it sounds very metal. Finally, the burly PJ5 sound I (apparently always) wanted. Time to get some better strings on this and fine tune the setup.

David Ellefson’s playing turned out to be an even bigger influence than I realized, so it feels right to have the instrument to match.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Feb 24, 2021
    cataract, Murch, Herrick and 56 others like this.
  2. 146F108C-DC38-43E4-AE86-4A10D0D89882.jpeg
    The big reveal just had to glitch out :rollno:

SteveBassJr, Karli, Murch and 37 others like this.
  3. Katoosie

Katoosie Mangoes! Tahiti! THE PLAN! Supporting Member