Neck Dimensions..... HELP ME!!!

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by iareplaythebass, Apr 3, 2004.

1. I'm planning a neck through 5 string...
    What should the dimensions of the neck be before I shape it?
    Also, how does the taper in width work?
    PLEASE HELP ME! I'd like to buy my wood soon! Thanks everybody!
  2. JSPguitars

Jan 12, 2004
    Grass Valley
    Well.......I'm sure more detailed answers will follow. I am no expert luthier, but here's what I have recently come to understand:

First: get all your 'dimensions'......when building a neck you need to know:
    1) scale length (34, 35, 36")?
    2) how many strings?
    3) decide what bridge yur gonna use.

how the neck will be constructed depends on these things.
    are you gonna use laminates?? diff. exotics perhaps??
    or just use one nice chunk of maple or mahogany?

laminates will be cheaper, and dep. who you talk to, more stable.

also, what kind of headstock joint are you planning to use?? If you want to do what is called a scarf joint, then the wood/laminates might not need to be as "wide".
    But, if you are planning to use no headstock joint, then the woods will need to be around 3" wide or so, or enough to get the correct headstock angle. There's many diff. ways to build the neck. Read up on them, and decide what is best for you.
    As an example, if you are planning a neck-thru, then you will need at least what your scale length is.
    if it's say, 34", then you will need a little to play with behind the bridge and enough after the nut for the headstock, so we're talkin 40+".
    buy a good building book too!
    That should be your first job. Get all the dimensions together on paper first.
    have fun and be patient.
  3. JSPguitars

Jan 12, 2004
    Grass Valley