1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Neck-hand thumb...wait, what?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Hamlet7768, Jan 25, 2012.

1. Hamlet7768

Hamlet7768 Here to chew gum and rock. Still have gum.

Jun 5, 2011
    I'm a partly self-taught bassist so far in the sense that I played some stuff on my own before I started my official lessons on the bass, and I'm curious if I'm doing something wrong here.

I've heard that one's thumb is supposed to rest precisely in the center of the back of the neck, but when I try to make it rest that way (about parallel), I can't stretch my fingers to make, for example, a jump from the 5th to the 8th fret. It's fine when I let my thumb rest on top and let it slide down when I need it to, but I've heard doing this is bad technique. Why?

2. Wissen

Wissen

Nov 11, 2007
    Central PA
    It all comes down to long-term comfort. I was taught the "thumb in the middle of the back" technique because it keeps your hand out of trouble three hours later, ten years later, etc. It is really easy to get lazy with this (I certainly do all the time), and we can insert the "everyone is different, do what's most comfortable for you" caveat right here, but moving your thumb towards the top of the neck is "bad technique" because it puts the most strain on your hand/wrist, which is bad in the long run.

Of course, this is a translation from upright bass left-hand technique, and the second part of it is to keep your elbow out away from your body (and up, when you're putting it up on the upright neck) so that your wrist is perfectly straight. But how many electric players have you seen who keep their elbow away from the body every second of the entire night, and keep the headstock up by their ear?

3. mambo4

mambo4

Jun 9, 2006
    Dallas