Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Neck heavier than body, heads South....

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by pixelbot2000, Dec 19, 2005.

1. pixelbot2000

pixelbot2000

Dec 19, 2005
    I'm brand new at playing bass, but having a great time learning so far. I have a Daisy Rock Electric/Acoustic....it sounds awesome amped or solo...problem is this: The body is very light, of course and the neck is heavy. When I stand to play, the neck wants to plummet to the ground. I have to hold it up at the same time that I'm trying to move my hand along the neck which as a beginner is tough enough. I can't move my hand freely when I'm trying to keep the neck from going South. Is there a way I can weight the hollow body a bit to give it more balance?

One thing I tried was a friend's acoustic strap set up where one end hooks around the headstock. Doesn't work though, because the bass neck is too long, the strap falls off my shoulder.

Thanks for helping a girl out.

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Welcome to the bass world! You are experiencing a common problem called "neck dive." Unfortunately, there's not a lot you can do. The strap button on the bottom of the body can possibly be moved, but that's about it. Take it to a guitar repair shop and ask what they think. Failing that, if you haven't had it too long maybe you can return it and get something a little more balanced.

Good luck!

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

IMO - there is a lot you can do - i.e. "try extensively before you buy" and make sure you don't buy a bass like this!! ;)

Only buy well-balanced basses!!

4. bound

bound

Dec 28, 2003
    Jersey, Baby!