Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Neck Heavy Bass

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Flash, Feb 7, 2002.

1. Flash

Flash

Feb 3, 2002
    Salem, Oregon
    I'm just getting started and I purchased a starter Jay Turser 4 string. I like the Bass, it plays well, and looks pretty nice, (It's no Warwick) It seems a little neck heavy. I've been told this is normal. I have tried a few basses, but there is a big difference between tapping on one for a few minutes to see how it sounds and lugging one around for hours of playing and practicing. I find myself holding the neck up a little while I am playing. I this something I should be concerned about? Is there anything I could do to improve the balance? :confused:

Thanks!

Sorry if this should have gone into "Set up" Forum

Geddy Lee

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

If your bass is a floor-diver, the headstock is why the balance isn't very even. A couple of things you could do;

- Try adjusting your strap so that the upper horn of body is pulled up towards your chin. In other words, make the front end shorter.

- If your handy with tools you could relocate the strap pin at the butt of the bass so your bass is at more of a steeper angle.

- Wear it like Fieldy :D

3. Flash

Flash

Feb 3, 2002
    Salem, Oregon
    Thanks!

Again, since I am fairly new to the "Scene" I do not know all of the slang. I assume by "Floor-diver" you mean that the neck tends to drop toward the floor, this is the tendency. I am using a lightweight (Cheap)cloth strap, guess I should buck up and get a nicer one. Any recomendations?

Thanks again!

P.S. No offense to whoever it is, but....who is Fieldy?

4. mikemulcahy

mikemulcahy

Jun 13, 2000
    The Abyss
    Welcome to TB, I like you already!!!
    Yup that's it goes right down to your toes. Your strap may help a little but repositioning the strap pin is your best bet.

Mike