1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Neck Heavy Epiphone EB-0

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JDiPierro, May 5, 2010.

1. JDiPierro

JDiPierro

May 5, 2010
    Hey everyone,

I'm totally new to playing bass. I just bought my first bass, an Epiphone EB-0 off craigslist and I've fallen in love with everything that is bass! The EB-0 seems great for me as a beginner, but the one thing that really bugs me about it is that it seems to be very neck-heavy. If I'm standing up with the strap the neck just falls flat to the floor if I don't hold it, making it very hard to play standing.

First off I was wondering if it could have anything to do with the strap? I bought it for $5 in the bargain bin (literally, I had to dig for it) at a local music store.

If not the strap, I'm pretty certain it's just the placement of the... strap... knob... (does that thing have a technical name?) It's on the back of the body, as opposed to what I've seen most, on the... extension of the body... (I said I was new...); however the EB-0.

Is it possible to install another knob somewhere else? or is there any other way to help balance out the weight?

Thanks!

JD

2. Wider strap 3 inches or more will help, the strap peg could be moved , not sure where and lighter tuners could help.

3. JDiPierro

JDiPierro

May 5, 2010
    I'll definitely look into getting a wider strap soon. I might talk to a local shop about if they think moving the peg would be a good idea.

I don't think the tuners are that heavy.. I mean when I hold the bass in my hand it's definitely weighted toward the body, which confuses the heck out of me as to why it would be neck heavy when hanging by a strap.

Thanks for the tips!

4. hdracer

hdracer

Feb 15, 2009
    Elk River, MN.