1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Neck Issues

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Bruce Bass, Apr 30, 2009.

1. Bruce Bass

Bruce Bass

Apr 30, 2009
    Hi All

I am another newbie to the site so hopefully I am on the correct part of the Forum. I am Just learning to play the Double Bass and although the neck on the Bass is clean it is Varnished and is sticky making it difficult to move fast up and down the neck. I play a Bass Guitar than has a satin finish neck and is very fast.

My question is is there anything I should put on my palm such as powder or on the neck such as wax?

Regards
    Bruce

2. Welcome. No reflection on you, but some lower quality basses are mass-produced to the point where the entire bass is put together, then sprayed with varnish (before the finger board is added) Necks shouldn't be varnished at all. I would remove the varnish. I don't know if you have any experience with wood, but you need to be careful. I would try sandpaper, starting out with a medium grit and slowly working your way down to fine. Mask off the edges of the finger board. You don't want to take wood away from that. Be very careful to sand with the grain when you get down to the bare wood. The finished neck should be as smooth as silk. If the varnish is industrial strength, you may have to use some solvent. Masking the board is very important here. If you get ANY moisture between the board and the neck you may be in big trouble because the board is glued on to the neck with hide glue which is water soluble so it can be replaced. Leave the varnish on the base of the neck and the curve up under the gear box.
    We normally suggest taking your bass to a luthier (a string instrument maker/repair-person) but some things can be addressed by the player, such as this.