neck markers for beginning students

Discussion in 'Double Bass Pedagogy [DB]' started by Seth Shonefeld, Aug 6, 2020.

1. Seth Shonefeld

Seth Shonefeld

Oct 14, 2016
    I have been playing double bass now for a couple of months. I recently bought the Tonal Energy App for iPad for both tuning help and to watch a bit while I practice scales and arpeggios. Granted, the app measures semitones in 100ths (and even 1000ths?!?!), an extremely high measurement. Still I'm shocked at how infrequently I'm actually playing the notes correctly. It's very humbling.

The higher percentage I'm off is that I'm flat. I guess this is understandable considering that it's probably better to be slightly flat than slightly sharp. Slightly sharp often has a distinctly unpleasant sound, while slightly flat is easier hidden.

I'm thinking maybe it's good for me to put note markers on the bass where the frets would be. Any advice on this point would be greatly appreciated. I have a teacher; bbut probably not for much longer.

basspraiser likes this.
  2. Steve Freides

Steve Freides Former Mannes College Theory Faculty Supporting Member

Dec 11, 2007
    Ridgewood, NJ
    Put the tuner down and walk away. Use your ears, dots or not, to tell you if you're in tune. Many of us have learned without the dots, but in the same breath we have to say that some really good players have dots on their bass necks.

-S-

3. nogbert

nogbert

Jul 18, 2010
    Denver, CO
    another thing to keep in mind is that equal temperament can sound out of tune to some people. if you follow your ear you'll likely be closer to just intonation (assuming you have OK ears). if you want to practice scales with a tuner you're in luck because tonal energy has just intonation as a setting, just make sure you're playing in/selecting the right key!

4. Steve Freides

Steve Freides Former Mannes College Theory Faculty Supporting Member

Dec 11, 2007
    Ridgewood, NJ