Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Neck Question

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by charmicarmicat, Mar 15, 2006.

1. Since I'm rather new at this I'm not sure excatly how to phrase it, I hope I'm not offfending anyone.
    Saw this 50's Kay for sale that has a new neck. The new neck was installed after the original neck was shattered in a bizarre gardening accident :) seriously, the neck was basically broke into two pieces. A new neck was installed by John Phillips of World Of Strings In Long Beach. I'm going to check it out with my teacher sometimes this weekend. I was wondering if the luthiers that post here (or anyone else really) could bring some light on this neck situation. I know that in the electric world a neck makes a huge difference but since we're talking about an acoustic instrument where the body is a huge part of the sound, where does the neck "fit" in the equation?
    Thank you all for taking the time.

2. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004
    Sorry to side-step the main question in this new thread but why, exactly, are you pursuing a repaired Kay bass? If it truly is the sound that is important to you, you can typically do far better for the same (or perhaps less) money. That is, unless you have some specific affinity for the "Kay sound."

3. mchildree

mchildree Supporting Member

Sep 4, 2000
    AL/GA
    The Layman's Response:

I don't know of many Kays that have a neck that's never been broken (although I've owned 2). I've played several which have had badly repaired necks and still sounded fine. My own NS Cleveland had it's original neck broken and replaced...and I think it's better now than with the original neck.

4. Replacing the neck on a Kay, assuming it`s a good quality neck and installation, is only going to improve it. Both tonally and for playability.