1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Neck swapping (Fender)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JesseVMT, Jan 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. JesseVMT

JesseVMT

Apr 8, 2016
    I got this blacktop Jazz from a trade I did, thinking it might be nice to have a backup P style Bass. But it turns out this thing is tone monster. I'm considering swapping the neck off my P bass and putting it on the blacktop. I've never done this before and just looking for a couple pointers. I far prefer the look and feel of Maple over rosewood.
    I have some other plans I might do to this bass, it just screams for modding. 20170120_124033.

static0verdrive likes this.
  2. Lownote38

Lownote38

Aug 8, 2013
    Nashville, TN
    Just make the switch. Simple as that. The maple neck should fit perfectly on the Blacktop with no modifications.

3. As long as they're both 4-bolt type, sure! My only complaint regarding my AVRI'75 jazz is that it's the 3-bolt with micro-tilt adjust... much harder to find a replacement and swap if I ever wanted or needed to.

Moosehead1966 and JesseVMT like this.
  4. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

i believe Lownote38 is correct. just wanted to say that both instruments pictured look really nice!

Lownote38 and JesseVMT like this.
  5. JesseVMT

JesseVMT

Apr 8, 2016
    Thanks!

6. Everything should go nice and easy. Just make sure the necks fit well (they should) in each others pocket before putting the screws in. After tightening the screws and stringing the bass look down the neck from the bridge and make sure the strings are even. If not, slightly loosen the neck and move it to align, then tighten the screws. You can align it yourself but it helps to have a friend.

By the way, love both basses but that Blacktop is really pretty!

7. UNICORN BASS

UNICORN BASS

Feb 10, 2016
    Michigan USA
    What they said.

Aqualung60 likes this.