neck woods

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by wotnwhy, Apr 7, 2002.

1. as some of you may well know i'm building a bass, and i have now come to spec-ing out the neck and i have a few questions

i was thinking of having a koa neck with a pau ferro fret board, this is based solely on looks as i live in a very remote area and have to travel for hours to visit places with a very limited selection of basses to try out, so i have little experience of wood tones

so can anybody tell me, is this a good combo?
    wot are the advanteges/disadvanteges of it?

could you try and describe the tone of this combo?

if it's not a good idea, could anybody reccomend a decent combo thats really good looking and has a tone that is as all-round as possible

thanx for any help

2. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

For stability, I wouldn't use koa unless you are planning on making it a 5 piece laminated neck.

Birdseye maple is very stable, and very nice to look at. It would look great either with a birdseye fingerboard, or pau ferro.

Wenge is also very stable, but is a very difficult wood to work with.

Another nice look is a 5 piece laminted neck with either birdseye maple and purpleheart, or wenge and purpleheart.
  3. thats some good info, thanx!

i'll have to look into the birdseye maple and purpleheart, or wenge and purpleheart ideas

again, thanx

4. adrian garcia

adrian garcia

Apr 9, 2001
    las vegas. nevada
    Endorsing Artist: Nordy Basses, Schroeder Cabs, Gallien Krueger Amps
    i have had 2 basses with wenge necks- i love them!! i also have a maple neck bass- but i think i dig the wenge better
  5. Paduak is known for its stability and growl--Trey Gunn's tone on The Joy of Molybdenum defines the sound of that particular wood.