Need 3 beginner jazz tunes

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Lowtonejoe, Sep 30, 2005.

1. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    Hi guys.

I did a search and am still not sure what to choose.

Jazz is becoming more important to me the so I am looking for three beginner jazz tunes to start learning jazz.

My background is for the most part in blues. After learning a few tunes on B.B. King's 'Blues on the Bayou' album I thought I would take the plunge into jazz.

Any suggestions?

I am at a loss on where to start. There are tons of great jazz tunes out there but the few I have dabbled with tend to confound me. So I am hoping to get started with something simple and go from there.

Any help would be appreciated.

2. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    Autumn Leaves, Watermelon Man and All Of Me.

The changes in these tunes aren't mind boggling, so that's a good thing for starters!
    Autumn Leaves and All Of Me have lyrics which I find makes it much easier to learn and remember the melody, and to phrase it lyrically. Watermelon Man is a 16 bar blues in F, again the melody is easy to get your head around and to play.
  3. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    Can't go wrong with those. I'm sure I've heard BB King do a version of Watermelon Man, so that might be a good cross-over point; the other two are more traditional standards. All good tunes to work on.

4. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    'Now's the time' by Charlie Parker is a good bet too. A nice simple 12 bar Bb blues with a simple melody that you'll soon tire of hearing played badly on saxmphone :D

Playing blues in lots of different keys, mainly horn friendly ones, F, Bb, Eb,will also stand you in good stead. You can add in some more jazzy changes on top of standard 12 bar too, see, below.. You could just play the same tune in a few differnt keys.

F7 Bb7 F7 F7
    Bb7 Bb7 F7 F7
    G-7 C7 F7/D7 G-7/C7

hope that helps

5. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua