Need a Cheap Bass...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by thaimex, Apr 15, 2005.

1. thaimex

Apr 15, 2005
    San Diego, CA
    okay, so i am actually a guitarist but i need a bass to use occasionally on my recordings.

i was looking at the Squier Standard Series but was unsure of which to pick between the J-Bass or P-Bass.

keep in mind, i am a guitarist first and i don't really do much "technical" bass playing... mostly simple lines to ride along with the drums. so i am just looking for a good, versitile, cheap bass...

any suggestions?

Squier P-Bass or J-Bass?

Or even another Bass?
  2. pickles

pickles Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA
    Squier of Mexican Fender P-bass should be fine. Try to play a few before you buy one, since quality varies quite a bit with those. Peavey and Yamaha also make good rock-bottom priced basses.
  3. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Where are you located? If you are in the US, check out the SX basses at Rondo Music.
    More consistent than the Squiers, and less money too.

I have a $99 SX P bass copy, and it is better than any of the newer Squiers that I have played in shops.
  4. thaimex

Apr 15, 2005
    San Diego, CA
    thanks for the replies. the SX basses actually look pretty nice.

any other suggestions/comments.
  5. Minger

Mar 15, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    Definately SX over Squire, to say the least.

Even the stock pickups sound pretty good...
  6. artistanbul

artistanbul Nihavend Longa Vita Brevis

Apr 15, 2003
    yamaha bb404 from musicians friend for 199 is a very nice option
  7. Look at the OLP MM series....consitantly get high ratings from reviewers...not exactly a Stingray (by a long shot) but solid bass for the money.
  8. I'll second the SX basses from Rondo Music - I have a fretless Jazz from them, and it's very good for the money ;)

I've also played a couple of OLP stingray copies, and can recommend those also as a cheap option.