Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

need a song

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by kas_su, Feb 17, 2006.

1. kas_su

kas_su

Nov 20, 2005
    I am a beginner bassist, who just started a band, and I was wondering, if any of you could help us find an easy song to start with, that is playable on both guitarr and bass. We prefer metal and rock. Thanks for all your help in advance.

2. More punkish but you can't go wrong with Blitzkrieg Bop.

3. villakid 93

villakid 93 Guest

Dec 27, 2005
    Swayfield, Grantham
    I made a thread about this some time ago, if you'd like to start with a song make sure it's a tune you like and is easy to learn, I know my bass tabs for my Another Monday For The Kids song of by heart thats probs as I spent 4 hours rehearsing with a mate :)

4. yitsi80

yitsi80

Feb 8, 2006
    I have found that most CCR songs are relatively easy. I started out with bad moon on the rise.

5. +1! Fo sho! also known to my band as Old Faithful haha.:smug:

6. I remember Rock and Roll by Led Zep was fairly easy for me to learn at 14,My guitar playing buddy learned the guitar parts fairly easy.Our drummer allready had the beat down though.Geeez that was like 15 years ago!!:eek:

7. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    Don't know about metal but here's some rock. You can always metallize them.

Smoke on the Water - Deep Purple

Louie Louie - the Kingsmen

Wild Thing - the Troggs

Takin' Care of Business - Bachman Turner Overdrive

Rock Candy - Montrose

Calling Dr. Love - KISS

Slow Ride - Foghat

Whole Lotta Rosie - AC/DC

Mississippi Queen - Mountain

Lovin' Touchin' Squeezin' - Journey

Rocky Mountain Way - Joe Walsh

Tush - ZZ Top

This is a damned cool set if you ask me.

:D

Joe.

8. kas_su

kas_su

Nov 20, 2005
    thanks i'll check theme out

9. morf

morf Banned

Feb 17, 2006