1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need Advice From Veteran Upright Bassists!

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Dbman007, Apr 3, 2013.

1. Dbman007

Dbman007

Apr 3, 2013
    Hi, I'm a junior in high school and have been playing bass guitar for 4 years now but i have been playing music for 8 years altogether. I gig regularly with my combo and other various jazz groups and since college is coming around I'm very serious about purchasing an upright. Here's the catch, I'm left handed. Other than learning right handed, I was wanting some insight on an upright such as if I purchase one will flipping the bridge and nut fix my dilemma or are the tuning pegs going to be an issue as well? Also if there are any people who have felt my pain with this what did you do, or what would you recommend?

2. Steve Swan

Steve Swan

Oct 12, 2004
    Burlingame, California
    Retailer: Shen, Sun, older European
    If you can afford it, some companies make left handed doublebasses. I'm sure that those in the know can chime in to let you know which companies do this. Good luck. Though I play right handed, I feel your left handed pain!

3. My Dad is a lefty, and has always played guitar and other string instruments right-handed. If you learn to play the DB left-handed, the pool of instruments available to you in the future will be tiny.

Converting an existing right-handed bass for left-handed play is not as simple as switching the bridge and nut. The instrument has to be opened up and the system of internal supports rebuilt. You're talking thou$and$.

Engelhardt, Shen and Upton Bass all make quality, purpose-built left handed basses at reasonable prices for a slight upcharge.

4. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC