Need advice on a new amp/head purchase

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BartmanPDX, Jan 6, 2006.

1. BartmanPDX

BartmanPDX Supporting Member

I'm asking for advice because my situation is a little unusual . . .

I'm looking for a new head, as my GK 400 RB (circa 1990) is aging less than gracefully.

Weight/Portability and power are of little consideration, as I am a stay-at-home bassist due to family concerns. My daughter has epilepsy and autism, and requires around-the-clock supervision and occasionally has to be rushed to the hospital for several days. My wife works 60+ hours a week, yet makes good money (2-3 times what I made as a high school teacher before I became a full-time stay-at-home dad), and her big annual bonus is coming up. As a result, I am not in a band, nor am I likely to be in one for quite some time. I mostly play along with CDs on the stereo while my daughter is in her special ed. preschool.

Therefore weight of the amp is of little concern -- once it's in my house, it may not be moved for years. Also, I don't need huge amounts of power, as I am not competing with a guitarist or live drummer, etc.. Sure, I like to crank it up a little, but I don't need a pre/power amp setup like a Demeter VTBP-201/Crest CA-9 combination or anything. :D I just want something that sounds good

I'm pretty sure I can convince the wife to go up to around $1K. My cabinets are a (circa 1990) Hartke 410 XL aluminum-cone and an '05 Avatar B212, which I got on the advice of people here and am very happy with. I am also thinking of replacing the Hartke with another Avatar -- either another 212 or a 210 (possibly 410).