Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need advice on a small amp for outdoor use

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by srxplayer, Jun 2, 2004.

1. srxplayer

srxplayer

May 19, 2004
    Highland, CA
    I am pretty new at this bass gig and need some advice on stepping up to a bigger amp for outdoor use.

I am currently using an Ibanez SW65 that I have used for indor practice or I run a 1/4" out to a board and use it as a stage monitor. It works ok indoors but outside it gets snuffed by everything.

For practice our band is using a an six channel Yamaha PA system thats rated at 300 watts. We run vocals, 2 guitars and a Roland Keyboard through it. The bass player has to amplify on his own, and of course the drums are on thier own. This set up is used for practice on a back patio that is covered with a solid roof. With 300 watts we are not playing at insane volumes either. Of course 65 watts is not going to be heard at all in this mess.

I would like to step up to a bigger amp but I don't want to get into a huge stack just yet. I just need something to be heard. But I don't want to go out and buy something and find out it's not enough.

What do you think????

2. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    Moved to Amps...

3. 7flat5

7flat5

Nov 28, 2003
    Upstate NY
    I don't pretend to have all the expertise required for a real answer, but I have just faced a similar problem, especially on the "don't want to get into a huge stack just yet" front. I have heard one option, a 100+ watt 15" combo like the Ampegs or Peavey TNT, and they are a definite step up from your Ibanez (I use an Ibanez SW35 for practice some--nice little amp with good features like headphone + CD practice) if you are rockin and more interested in loudness than hifi tone. About $400-500.