Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need advice on choosing new bass (Carvin?)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by c0bra_, Jun 13, 2005.

1. c0bra_

c0bra_

Jun 9, 2005
    Hey guys,

I hope this doesn't turn out to be one of those "I'm a newbie, tell me what to do!" posts but with my complete lack of bass knowledge, that's probably what's going to happen.

I currently have a Fender P-bass (recent Mexican made). I dropped some Quarter Pounders in it and it's been serving me well for about three years. Lately, however, as I'm starting to play different kinds of music I'm having trouble getting the sound I want out of it. There are a couple dead spots, intonation keeps going out, etc.

I recently came into some money so now I'm looking at spending around $1300-$1500 absolute max. I initially went and looked at Carvins because I was reading about them on this site and I became obsessed with all the different options they offer. I could get a bass that looks exactly how I want it to, basically.

THEN I read some more threads and I see that some people are unsatisfied with Carvins tone-wise, especially in the Stingray vs. Carvin thread where everyone seemed to prefer the Stingray for sound quality.

I play mostly blues/blues rock but often end up playing mellow stuff with acoustic guitar or worship music. I don't do much slap, but I'd like the option of having a bass that is capable. What I need to know is, since I cannot just go out and try a Carvin (haven't been able to find one used in the area), would it be in my better interests to go for a Stingray/Sterling (I'm going to go try out a couple today), or perhaps some other brand?

Thanks, I love this site so far.

2. Welcome!

I personally really like the stingray better than any carvin I've seen, but then again it is my main GAS.

3. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005