Need advice on good metal bass.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bartman, Feb 6, 2005.

1. Hey guys,

I've been using an Ibanez SR800 for like 4 years and its been great but I think it's time for a new bass. I play in a heavy metal band and we play pretty low so I'd need a bass that has a good low end. I don't slap and I use fingers to play. I like to tap sometimes (I dont know whether some basses are better for that then others). I would need good pickups like Barts or emg's so that I wont have to upgrtade from stock (I like keeping my basses/guitars in their stock setup). My price range is $1500 tops.

So far I tried the BC Rich Beast and Warlock and a Warwick Vampyre. I like the Vampyre the most so far.

If anyone has any suggestions I'd love to hear them so that I know what to look for and try out at the store.

2. karrot-x

karrot-x Banned

Feb 21, 2004
    Omicron Persei 8
    Thumb, my metal bass of choice. Or if you want sort of an agressive bassy tone go with the a Stingray.
  3. Andy Brown

Andy Brown Supporting Member

Jul 23, 2004
    Rhode Island
    Founder: Wing Bass
    Modulus Quantums can get nasty. You can definately find a good used one for that price.
  4. LajoieT

LajoieT I won't let your shadow be my shade...

Oct 7, 2003
    Western Massachusetts
    Sorry, couldn't resist:

5. Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    Alex Webster uses both Spector and Modulus. Can't go wrong with an endorsement like that. The bassist from Nile uses Spector also. Just a thought. (Can you tell I'm biased?)

Are you looking at a 4 or 5 string?

For $1500 you can get used: Zon, Pedulla, Spector, Roscoe, Peavey Cirrus, Modulus, G&L L2000, maybe a Lull, Stingray, Lakland, Warwick, Yamaha, Dingwall Afterburner (highly rec'd), etc.

$1500 is a pretty big list to choose from. You'd have to tell us 4 or 5 strings, active, passive, what kind of neck you prefer and so on.