Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

need advice on walking bass lines

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by kik4adog, May 25, 2002.

1. kik4adog

kik4adog

Jan 3, 2002
    I'm fairly new to the upright bass.I was inspired largely by Barenaked Ladies bassist, Jim Creegan, to play upright.

Now one thing I'm desperately wanting to get a grasp on is some more creative and active (meaning moving) bass lines.

One thing I've noticed by listening to Jim is he tends to play one bass line on one verse and then for the second verse play something similar but in a higher octave.

But there are also alot of moving around that he does in between chord changes.Like his fingers are just constantly moving.And much of it is very melodic.
    Yet, much of what he does sound very improvisational as well.

So what I want to know is....Is there any particular walk or pattern that is followed for the basics of this style?Or is this something that just comes from being creative and taking the time to map out a nice sounding bass walk?

And also...Are there any sites on the web with patterns or walks that could help me out with this?
    ~Bryan~

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    The first step of a long journey.

Walking bass lines seem tougher to me than soloing. When soloing you have so many more choices and fewer constraints. 4/4 bass lines locks you into saying something with a steady stream of 1/4 notes. Bach would've been a bitch of a bass player. In the Misc. threads you'll find conversation on 'Blanket Scales'. A good place to start.

3. James S

James S

Apr 17, 2002
    New Hampshire
    kik,

As Ray stated "saying something with a steady stream of 1/4 notes" is not an easy task. (I am just about finished with a new book: The Quarter Note Melody)