1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need advice on which Bass to buy

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by OutcasterX, Nov 8, 2019 at 7:33 PM.

1. OutcasterX

OutcasterX

Friday
    Hi guys. First of all, I've been reading some threads in this forum for the past year and sure it's been helpful, but it's my time to ask.

So, after years of being a guitar player and somewhat of a bass player too when there was the need, I'm finally getting my first electric bass after years of wanting one (And I'm leaning towards P-Bass, since it's what I'm use to play and listen to). I'm currently studying so I can't afford much. But earlier I made my mind on a Squier Affinity PJ-Bass (and perhaps upgrade it, or go for something better in the future), since I'll be mostly recording and practicing, and I wanted to hear your thoughts on that particular model if you guys had any experiences with the current line.

My other option is a used Squier Mike Dirnt P-Bass with Seymour Duncan's Quarter Punt pickups and what it seems to be a Badass Bridge, sadly it's a little out of my price range, but I could get it still.

I really hope I could go for a used Fender MiM, but I've been looking for months and I just cannot find one (since where I live, gear it's pretty much hard to come by at either a good price... Or if you have someone to bring stuff from the USA), and websites like Reverb.com are out of the picture too for the same reason of country policies.

Any advice on this? Sorry for the long post.

2. knockerjoe

knockerjoe Supporting Member

Jun 5, 2016
    N.C.
    Not sure where you are but for a little more money you could find
    a VM or CV Squier and not have worry to upgrade an Affinity.
    These are much better basses and not a whole lot more money,
    Especially if you can find second hand.
    Good luck in your search!