need advice on which one to buy

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by davidyu77, Jul 13, 2002.

1. davidyu77

Jul 11, 2002

i am just starting to learn DB, and about
    to purchase a DB soon.
    i have few choices..and i would like to hear
    your opinion.
    1)Mathis Thoma MT23 - this is a slimline
    model (it is slim, reduces thickness of
    sound chamber) with laminated maple,
    realy ebony, and already setup for US$1200

2)Hybrid Auburn(romanian)
    – (Laminated) Made in Romania Laminated Spruce top, Ebony fingerboard, German tuning machine and ebony tailpiece. for us$1500.

3)Christopher bass, academy 100 series..
    Made with laminated Maple veneers, fully arched
    Ebony fingerboard, brass machines, bridge with adjusters
    Durable amber-brown shaded varnish
    for about $1300.

at this moment, i'm leaning toward the mathias
    thoma one because it is slim and less intimidating
    to me. i also like its brand better than others.
    i don't live close to where they sell these items,
    so i have to judge without seeing them first.

2. Can't say anything about the other 2, but I've heard nothing but incredibly positive things about Christopher basses. There's a HUGE thread about them on this very board.

3. All Hell...I`ll do it

Hello David,