1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need advice please...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by tbof, May 16, 2011.

1. tbof

tbof

Feb 13, 2011
    Hi,

Recently, I started playing with two guys from work, both are in their late 40's/early 50's. It's done me a lot of good because I've had it rough in the last year. Anyways, one of the guys (our guitar player) is an alcoholic. I didn't know this until a few weeks ago. The first few times we've played together everything was fine and we all had a lot of fun. We don't do covers or anything, we just jam. But lately our guitarist has been showing up at our weekly jams more and more intoxicated by booze. And for the first time yesterday things started to get pretty ugly. He was already drunk at noon when I picked him up. Once we got to our drummers house, we started jamming after we set up our gear and the poor guy would stumble and catch his foot in cables, unplug his own guitar amp and would get all tangled up in his headphones cord, knock over his beer bottles (one on our drummers keyboard), couldn't listen and follow the beats when we played and was just playing his thing as if we weren't there which sucks when you jam (not to mention he had his worst tone ever too!). He even complained I wasn't looking at him so that he could visually let me know when to change keys - when in fact I was looking at him the whole time and HE would never giving me the sing! :rollno: Was a real bubble man.

I was pretty bummed out last night when I got home and thought this could very well have been my last time playing with them. Even our drummer looked a little pissed. We jam at the drummers house and our alcoholic friend is a little messy.