Need advice.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Velkov, Jan 17, 2001.

1. Velkov

Jan 17, 2001
    Lansdowne, Ontario
    I'm a beginner. I've been playing the guitar for 10 years or something like that, but recently I decided to get a bass. I know that I want a Mexican jazz bass and I know I'll have to upgrade the pickups and maybe the bridge.

I don't know what to do for a good practice amp. These are my options so far:
    1. Trace Elliot Boxer 65 - sounds great, but no line out and no effects loop
    2. Yorkville BM100 - sounds great, not very loud, not as powerful as it should be, but has more features than the Boxer 65.
    3. Fender Bassman 60 - I like the kickback feature, it sounds very good, but is more expensive than any of the above.

I know there is all kinds of other brands/models but so far these are the ones I've considered. I want something small that I can carry around easily and I don't want to spend over $400. I need it for practice so I want small but powerful. Something that can compete with a drumkit.

What do you guys think?
  2. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    In my experience nothing under 100 watts can truly stand up to a drum kit. At least in a R&R situation. I own a Peavey combo that I love, it's just kinda big and heavy. I shopped for a more portable amp several times, wound up buying and returning a few because once my drummer started hitting, it was all over. I recently bought an Ampeg BA115 which I thought would be easier to move around (it's not - still fairly heavy). The price was around 3 bills though(I haggled like crazy and they went with it), it's smaller than the Peavey, and it works well for rehearsals. I've taken it on about ten gigs - depending on the room sometimes it's been fine, sometimes I had to really push it to it's limit.